Unfortunately, due to severe weather, the 2022 SBUR meeting was transitioned to virtual and was re-scheduled for THURSDAY, 11/10/2022 through SUNDAY, 11/13/2022. Several CAIRIBU-affiliated investigators and trainees – past and present – participated. Here’s a list:

Travel Award Recipients: Teresa Liu, PhD;* Hannah Miles; and Han Zhang, MS – all from the UW-Madison U54 O’Brien Center [*Liu was also a prior K12 Scholar in the UW-Madison KURe Program)

Thursday presenters: Maggie Stangis, MS (UW-Madison U54 O’Brien Center)

Friday presenters: Zhou Wang, PhD (PI of prior O’Brien Center, University of Pittsburgh); Petra Popovics, PhD (prior UW-Madison KURe Program K12 Scholar, now at Eastern Virginia Medical School); Doug Strand, PhD (UTSW, project leader in the UW-Madison U54 O’Brien Center); Jonathan Pollack, MD, PhD (Stanford University U54 O’Brien Center); and Han Zhang, MS (UW-Madison U54 O’Brien Center)

Saturday presenters: Hannah Miles (UW-Madison U54 O’Brien Center) and David DeGraff, PhD (prior Opportunity Pool Award recipient, Columbia University U54 O’Brien Center)

Poster presentations:

  • UW-Madison U54 O’Brien Center – Han Zhang, MS; Hannah Miles; Alexis Adrian; Teresa Liu, PhD (current Opportunity Pool Award recipient); Kegan Skalitzky; Maggie Stangis, MS; Alejandro Roldan-Alzate, PhD (prior Opportunity Award recipient); Laura Hackner; and Jordan Vellky, PhD (prior graduate student)
  • Beaumont Hospital-Oakland University P20 Exploratory Center (2022-2024) – Sara Roccabianca, PhD (Michigan State University, project leader for P20 Center); Sabrina Mota, PhD; and Pragya Saxena
  • Columbia University U54 O’Brien Center  – Jonathan Barasch, MD, PhD
  • UW-Madison KURe Program – Wade Bushman, MD, PhD
  • NorthShore University HealthSystem for Research-Purdue University P20 Exploratory Center (2018-2020) – Renee Vickman, PhD; Meaghan Broman, DVM, PhD
  • U24 Interactions Core – Jennifer Allmaras, MP

CAIRIBU Welcomes Two New Centers!

Investigators John Lieske, MD and Kevin Koo, MD, MPH will be joining the CAIRIBU community after receiving a 3-year award from the NIDDK to establish a FORWARD P20 Urology Center at Mayo Clinic studying inflammatory mechanisms that lead to kidney stone formation as well as Pei Zhong, PhD, MSc who will be establishing a FORWARD P20 Urology Center at Duke University.

From the NIDDK, “The overall goal of the Fostering Research With Additional Resources and Development (FORWARD) Urology Centers program is to foster and expand the benign urologic research community. FORWARD Urology Centers will support a Research Project designed and conducted by a collaborative, multidisciplinary team comprising junior investigators and/or researchers new to the field of benign urologic research.”

Have you read this?

CAIRIBU investigators Indira Mysorekar, PhD and Nicole DeNisco, PhD, and their postdocs Arnold Salazar, PhD and Michael Neugent, PhD, collaborated on this review on the Gut-Bladder axis and its implication for recurrent urinary tract infections. DeNisco and Neugent participated in the CAIRIBU urinary microbiota research interest group in 2021. Talk about building connections!


CAIRIBU Collaboration

Nick Steers, PhD, Opportunity Pool awardee from the Columbia University O’Brien Center and Indira Mysorekar, PhD, PI of prior CAIRIBU P20 Center at Washington University (now at Baylor College of Medicine) publish a comprehensive review on bladder macrophages in Mucosal Immunology.

Timing is everything: impact of development, ageing and circadian rhythm on macrophage functions in urinary tract infections

Check this out!

Article features collaborative research from Duke University K12 Alums

Female urinary tract lactobaccili can kill pathogenic bacteria, UAH research shows

K12 alums, Nazema Siddiqui, MD and Tatyana Sysoeva, PhD have continued their collaboration on research developed while at Duke University, now representing two different academic institutions, following Sysoeva’s move to the University of Alabama at Huntsville.


CAIRIBU Interactions Core Collaboration Awards

Congratulations 2022 Recipients:

 Betsy Salazar, PhD is a Research Scientist in the laboratory of former University of Pittsburgh O’Brien Center Opportunity Pool awardee Rose Khavari, MD (Houston Methodist). Dr. Salazar was awarded one of two CAIRIBU Collaboration Awards for her proposal, “Characterization of spinal neural networks involved in the control of the lower urinary tract: a novel spinal fMRI feasibility trial.” Dr. Salazar’s PhD is in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Houston. She then completed a postdoc to work on therapeutic strategies promoting remyelination and motor recovery in patients with spinal cord injuries. She recently joined the Khavari lab to begin focusing on the brain-bladder connection.

Nazema Siddiqui, MD, MHSc is a urogynecologist and Associate Professor at Duke University and a former K12 KURe Scholar in the CAIRIBU KURe Program at Duke University. Dr. Siddiqui was awarded a CAIRIBU Collaboration Award for her proposal, Development of humanized mouse models for studies of the urogenital microbiome.” Dr. Siddiqui completed an Obstetrics & Gynecology residency at Cleveland Clinic and then a fellowship in Female Pelvic Medicine & Reconstructive Surgery at Duke University.




The Duke KURe Multidisciplinary Benign Urology Research Symposium 2022 attracted over 140 scientists from 47 academic institutions, from the USA, Canada, Australia, and Germany spanning a broad range of scientific subspecialties. This virtual meeting showcased not only the superb research by our Duke trainees but provided an opportunity for trainees across the US and internationally to highlight their research. Over 40 abstracts were submitted, and the best trainee submissions were selected for oral platform presentations by the KURe advisory committee. The symposium offered 2 keynote speakers, 6 oral platform presentations by our awardees and KURe scholars, and 2 multidisciplinary panel discussions. During 6 concurrent scientific sessions trainee presentations were judged to win basic, translational, and clinical research awards. Additionally, there was opportunity on Friday for trainees to meet in small groups with experts for networking and advice.

“Another fantastic program with great topics!!”

“Very professional presentations.  Very prepared for questions. So inspiring to see such dedicated young scientists”




Multiple CAIRIBU investigators and trainees participated in the SUFU 2022 Winter Meeting in San Diego (and also virtually due to the meeting’s hybrid model). From Tuesday, Feb. 22 through Saturday, Feb. 26, notable speakers were: Indira Mysorekar, PhD (Baylor College of Medicine), PI of a prior CAIRIBU P20 Exploratory Center at Washington University; Jim Hokanson PhD (Medical College of Wisconsin & Marquette University), prior K12 Scholar in the Duke University KURe Program; and Rose Khavari, MD (Houston Methodist), prior Opportunity Pool Awardee (University Pittsburgh U54 O’Brien Center). CAIRIBU trainees were presenters or co-authors for abstracts presented in various sessions: Sarah Maxwell (graduate student, University of Tennessee P20 Exploratory Center), Giulia Lane, MD (K12 Scholar, University of Michigan KUroEpi Program), and Ross Everett, MD (prior urology fellow affiliated with the Medical College of Wisconsin P20 Exploratory Center). CAIRIBU PIs Kathryn Flynn, PhD (Medical College of Wisconsin P20 Exploratory Center) and Cindy Amundsen, MD (Duke University KURe Program) were co-authors on abstracts. Nazema Siddiqui, MD, MHS (Duke Health), prior K12 Scholar (Duke University KURe Program), was a presenter, co-author, and senior author on posters presented in both basic science and clinical science sessions. The full SUFU program book is HERE.